Library: MGMM General Resources: Art/Artifact Research

What Image Is it?

Beware, reverse image searches often cannot tell what aspects of an image are most important. However, if you do not have a background in a piece of work that has been submitted, or have a suspicion that a digital image is not original, these can be useful tools for providing clues.

TinEye: Upload, paste, or enter an image URL to search against other possible matches online.
Google Image Search: your default search engine must be Google for this to work.
- Right-click any image and select Search Google for Image:

Or, vist Google Images and click the camera button to search by images. You can upload or paste a direct link to an image to search for it.

Art on the Web

Artcyclopedia
Allows you to search by art movement, name, medium, subject, nationality, and more. Offers articles, galleries, and links to other art museums.
Axix
[Modern art] Features profiles of professional artists and curators, interviews, discussions, art news, debates and showcases the artists to watch.
British Library - Visual Arts Collection
The British Library's Visual Arts Collection include paintings, drawings, prints, photographs, sculpture and historical furniture.
ArtNet
Browse over 11 million auction records in our color-illustrated archive, with results dating back to 1985.

Use warning: the URL does not copy over. Export to PDF to save a record.
Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
Harvard Art Museums
Browse by classification, work type, medium or technique, period, place, and many other filters.
Library of Congress - Prints & Photographs
Specifically good for prints and photographs, browse by collections or search by keyword. Does not allow searching by year or year group.
New York Public Library Digital Image Gallery
Features nearly a million prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Art History Web Resources

Art History Resources on the Web
A large compendium of art resources from many different cultures throughout the ages: such as Byzantine, Prehistoric art, Japanese and 19th Century to name only a few.
Dictionary of Art Historians
A Biographical Dictionary of Historic Scholars, Museum Professionals and Academic Historians of Art
Heilbrunn timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS)
A comprehensive site for art history resources courtesy of U.C. Santa Barbara.

eBooks

Images of the Art Museum by Melania Savino (Editor); Eva-Maria Troelenberg (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783110341362
Publication Date: 2017-02-06
this interdisciplinary collection, scholars from a variety of academic backgrounds, including art history, heritage, museums studies and architectural history, explore a broad range of case studies stretching across the globe. The volume opens up debate about the epistemological and historiographical significance of a variety of different images and representations of the Art Museum, including the transformation or adaptation of the image of the art museum across periods and cultures.
The Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts by Michael Biggs (Editor); Henrik Karlsson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415581691
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
The Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts is a major collection of new writings on research in the creative and performing arts by leading authorities from around the world. It provides theoretical and practical approaches to identifying, structuring and resolving some of the key issues in the debate about the nature of research in the arts which have surfaced during the establishment of this subject over the last decade.
Art History by W. McAllister Johnson
ISBN: 9781442671034
Publication Date: 2016-01-29
These essays discuss major questions that should arise in courses in bibliography, methodology, and historiography, once the survey courses are left behind.

Librarian

Emma Schmidtke

she / her / hers

Email Me

Contact:

Room 210, Savage Library

970.943.2898

Copyright and Fair Use

Digital Image Rights Computator
DIRC is intended to assist in assessing the intellectual property status of a specific image documenting a work of art, a designed object, or a portion of the built environment.
Managing Intellectual Property for Museums
Read the guide that details the basics of intellectual property, defining intellectual property for museums, managing for museums, and more.
Guidelines for the Use of Copyrighted Materials and Works of Art by Art Museums
Published by the Association of Art Museum Directors, and details both special considerations and provides specific examples.

Art Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Folk Art by Gerard C. Wertkin (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780203644485
Publication Date: 2004-08-02
Generously illustrated with both black and white and full-color photos, this A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art, encompassing not only painting, but also sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more, including both famous and lesser-known genres.
Dutch Art by Sheila D. Muller (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781135495749
Publication Date: 2013-07-04
An illustrated feast for the eye and intellect Dutch Art explores developments in art, art history, art criticism, and cultural history of the Netherlands from the artists' workshops for the Utrecht Dom in 1475 to the latest movements of the 1990s.

Britannica concise encyclopedia
Britannica Encyclopedia provides starter articles on a variety of topics, search for background information on art periods or movements.

MGMM General Resources: Art/Artifact Research

M.A. in Gallery and Museum Management

Graduate Studies Guide: Resources for Research