Library: Leslie J. Savage Library: Popular Databases

On this page:

https://ezproxy.western.edu/login?url=

Our Databases

Our most popular article databases are hosted by EBSCOHost and Gale. Another popular database is ScienceDirect. This comprises more than 60% of our subscription databases. Please see the left navigation for information about linking from these popular databases.

If you should need assistance linking to the more specialized databases, (examples: eHRAF, RIA Checkpoint, GeoScienceWorld), just reach out to Tiffanie Wick (twick@western.edu).

EBSCOHost Databases: General Rules

EBSCOhost databases provide a “permalink” for each article and search results list. Always use this link. It contains the proxy prefix.
- Examples: Western OneSearch, Academic Search Complete, GreenFILE

EBSCOHost Databases: Exceptions

The following EBSCO databases use different interfaces than those mentioned above. Please contact us if you would like to link to these databases.

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer-oriented health content; designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics in all key areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
MyHeritage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A diverse genealogy database offering access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos and other resources in thousands of databases that span the past five centuries.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NoveList is a great tool for reading recommendations, information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.

Gale Databases & Exceptions

Gale databases provide a “bookmark” link for each article and search results list. Always use this link. It contains the proxy prefix.
- Examples: Global Issues in Context, Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection, Gender Studies Collection, Academic OneFile
  - Exception: Business Insights: Global: Some parts of the database do provide a link under the “Share” button.

ScienceDirect Database

ScienceDirect provides a stable link in the browser address bar. Just copy and paste the link into a document, make sure the https portion is present and then add the proxy prefix before the link.