Library: Leslie J. Savage Library: Archives & Special Collections

The Western Colorado University Archives collects, preserves, and makes available for use institutional records having permanent value in capturing the history of Western Colorado University. The Archives also acquires alumni and faculty papers and other documents associated with the history of the university and its activities.

The Western Colorado University Special Collections preserves and makes available manuscript collections and photographs donated by members of the Gunnison and campus community. The collections focus on activities or subjects that support disciplines within the college curriculum. The Special Collections also include a small collection of rare books that document the history of Colorado and the West.

Our Archives collections are available by appointment only. Contact the Library, library@western.edu, 970.943.2103, to make arrangements.

Types of Materials Collected & Maintained

Administrative Records: All records of historical importance originating in the Western Colorado University administrative offices, academic divisions, committees, Western Colorado University Foundation, and alumni office.
General Publications: Academic catalogs, bulletins, handbooks, program announcements, directories, newsletters, and miscellaneous brochures.
Workshop and Conference Records: Programs and administrative records documenting workshops and conferences sponsored by Western Colorado University.
Faculty Publications and Student Reports: Non-circulating copies of faculty publications and student graduate theses, some senior capstone reports, and senior reports from the history program.
Photographs: Photographs documenting campus events, activities, individuals, buildings, and classrooms.

Rare Books

The rare books are included in the library’s online catalog. They may be used in the library building during regular library hours. Ask at the library's front desk for access.

Library Catalog - Western Colorado University This link opens in a new window
Search for books, ebooks, media and more, available @ Your Savage Library!

Selected Collections

The Edward Weismiller Collection
Edward Weismiller (1915-2010), an award winning poet and noted scholar of prosody. Mr. Weismiller's family donated his personal library to Western State College of Colorado Library in 2012.
The Clarence T. Hurst Collection
C.T. Hurst (1895 - 1949), noted Colorado archaeologist and co-founder of the Colorado Archaeological Society, was Western’s first faculty member teaching archaeology. The collection consists of personal papers, field notes, correspondence, and slides.
The Charles Conklin Collection
Charles Conklin was the assistant director to the Public Land Law Review Commission chaired by Wayne Aspinall. The collection contains minutes of meetings and study reports.
The Lois Borland Collection
Lois Borland (1877-1967), Professor of English and literature at Western State College, was involved in academics on campus from 1914 until she retired from teaching in 1942. The collection includes personal papers and correspondence, articles from local newspapers pertaining to the history of the area, English class short stories, and letters from well-known authors.
The Endner Collection
A collection of slides taken by Harry and Bill Endner, ca. 1920’s, 1930’s, and possibly later. The slides depict scenes from the Gunnison area and South America.
The Bradford Collection
These slides depict Colorado wildflowers.
The Ralph E. Clark Collection
[in process]

Manuscript materials & slides may be used by appointment only. Contact the Library, library@western.edu, 970.943.2103, to make arrangements.

Technical Services & Archives Librarian

Sophia Phillips

Email Me

Contact:

970-943-2399

Leslie J. Savage Library: Archives & Special Collections

ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

Information & Scope

Our Archives collections are available by appointment only. Contact the Library, library@western.edu, 970.943.2103, to make arrangements.

Types of Materials Collected & Maintained

Rare Books

Selected Collections

Technical Services & Archives Librarian